Best Solar Christmas Light Brands Compared by Published Specs
Solar Christmas light brands compared on the specs makers publish: run time, charge time, battery and IP rating, plus which brand fits which job.

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. Listings and prices come from our partners and change often. Learn more.
The best brand of solar Christmas lights depends on the job. Brightown publishes the fullest specs for string lights, Janchs and Lumaz for icicles, and echosari for net lights. Gama Sonic, a well-known solar brand, makes permanent fixtures, not holiday strings. We could not find a Consumer Reports rating of solar Christmas lights.
The verdict in short: choose Brightown if you want string lights with a stated battery and run time, and choose a specialist set (icicle or net) if the shape matters more than the brand. Every figure below comes from the maker’s or seller’s own product page. We have not rated or scored any brand, and nothing here is a test result.
For what to look for on any set, start with our guide to the best solar Christmas lights.
Solar Christmas light brands compared
The table lists one or more example sets per brand, with the specs each page states. “Not stated” means the page we read did not give the figure.
| Brand | Example set | Length | LEDs | Charge time | Run time | Battery | IP rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brightown | 33 ft fairy lights | 33 ft | 100 | 4 to 6 h | 8 to 10 h | Not stated | IP65 |
| Brightown | 39 ft snowflake string | 39 ft | 100 | Not stated | 8 to 10 h | 800 mAh | IP65, all components |
| Brightown | 4-pack string lights | 288 ft total | 800 total | 4 to 6 h | Up to 16+ h | Not stated | IP65 panels and wires |
| Quntis | Star string lights | 12.47, 22.94 or 32 ft | Not stated | 8 to 10 h | Up to 8 to 10 h | 600 mAh | IP65 |
| Janchs | Icicle lights | 23 ft lit, 16.4 ft lead | 304 | Not stated | 8 to 12 h | Not stated | IP65 |
| Lumaz | Curtain icicle lights | 3.5 m or 7.5 m | 96 or 160 | 6 h | 8 to 12 h | Not stated | IP65 |
| echosari | 5 x 5 ft net lights | 5 x 5 ft | 100 | Not stated | 8 to 12 h | Not stated | IP54 |
| VOLT Lighting | 72 ft string | 72 ft | About 200 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | IP65 |
| Outdoor Solar Outlet | 500 LED string with remote | 165 ft | 500 | Not stated | Timer 3, 5 or 8 h | Not stated | Panel IP65, bulbs IP44 |
Two patterns stand out. First, battery capacity is the spec most often missing, even though it decides how long a set lasts on a short December day. Second, a single IP number can hide a split rating, as the last row shows. Our guide to waterproof solar Christmas lights explains why that matters.
Solar Christmas lights from named brands on eBay
Browse current solar Christmas lights on eBay, new condition only.
Shop solar Christmas lightsOpens eBay in a new tab. Check condition, seller feedback and returns on the listing.
Which brand is best for your space?
| If you need | Brands with published specs that fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| String lights with a stated battery | Brightown | 800 mAh battery and 8 to 10 h listed on its snowflake set |
| Long runs from one order | Brightown 4-pack, Outdoor Solar Outlet | 288 ft across four sets; 165 ft on one set |
| A timer and remote | Outdoor Solar Outlet | 3, 5 or 8 hour timer and remote listed |
| Gutters and eaves | Janchs, Lumaz | Icicle sets with stated LED counts and IP65 |
| Bushes and hedges | echosari | Net sized in feet, but rated IP54 |
| Warm white landscape look | VOLT Lighting | 72 ft string listed at 2700K, 1-year warranty |
| Permanent year-round lights | Gama Sonic | Solar post, wall and path fixtures, not holiday strings |
Brightown
Brightown is the holiday brand in this group with the most spec detail on its own pages. Its 39-foot snowflake string lists an 800 mAh built-in battery, a 180 degree adjustable monocrystalline panel, 8 to 10 hours of light, and IP65 on “all the components.” Its 33-foot fairy lights list a 4 to 6 hour charge and 8 to 10 hours of light.
The multicolor 4-pack spreads 800 LEDs over 288 feet in four sets, with a 4 to 6 hour charge and “up to 16+ hours” of run time. Treat “up to” figures as best-case numbers after a full summer-style charge. For how that plays out in December, see how long solar Christmas lights stay on.
Quntis
Quntis sells its solar star strings in three lengths and two colors. The page lists a 600 mAh battery, about 8 to 10 hours to charge and up to 8 to 10 hours of light. That long charge time is worth noting: December days in the northern US may not supply it. Star shapes are covered in more depth in our guide to solar star lights and tree toppers.
Janchs and Lumaz (icicle sets)
Janchs lists 304 LEDs on a 23-foot lit section with a 16.4-foot lead cord, 8 modes, 8 to 12 hours of light and IP65. That long lead is useful on a roofline, where the panel needs to reach open sky.
Lumaz lists curtain icicle sets of 3.5 or 7.5 meters with 96 or 160 LEDs, drops of 50, 60 or 70 cm, a 6 hour charge, 8 to 12 hours of light and IP65. Neither page states battery capacity. Our solar icicle lights guide compares icicle sets by lit length.
echosari (net lights)
echosari’s 5 x 5 foot solar net lists 100 LEDs, 8 to 12 hours of light after a full charge, a 1-year warranty and an IP54 rating. IP54 is a splash rating, a step below the IP65 common on string lights. For sizing a net to a shrub, see solar net lights for bushes.
VOLT Lighting
VOLT is a landscape lighting maker that also sells a 72-foot solar Christmas string. Its page lists about 200 integrated LEDs, a 2700K warm white, a weather and UV resistant cable, IP65 and a 1-year warranty. It does not state charge time, run time or battery size, so there is less to compare.
Outdoor Solar Outlet
This seller’s 165-foot set lists 500 LEDs, 8 modes, a remote and a timer with 3, 5 or 8 hour settings, plus a 1-year service term. The page rates the panel IP65 and the bulbs IP44. That suits sheltered spots better than an exposed gutter. Timer settings are explained in our guide to solar lights with remote and timer.
Gama Sonic: a solar brand, but not for Christmas strings
Gama Sonic is a dedicated solar lighting maker, so it is a natural brand to check. Its shop lists solar post, wall, landscape and pathway, deck and fence, and security lights, plus replacement batteries and bulbs. It lists no string light or holiday category.
Gama Sonic states that its lithium-ion batteries are designed to last 3 to 5 years, roughly 1,000 to 2,000 charge cycles depending on the product. That is useful for permanent lighting. For seasonal strings, pick one of the holiday brands above.
What does Consumer Reports say about solar Christmas lights?
We could not find a Consumer Reports rating of solar Christmas lights. CR does rate solar outdoor lights, in three groups: landscape, deck and string lights. Its page was updated May 1, 2026.
Three points from CR’s article apply to Christmas sets too:
- CR found that solar lights still produced light after charging on overcast days, “but a lack of sun affected battery life.”
- It notes that direct sunlight is not always a must, but it helps.
- It says battery-powered devices generally perform best when stored at room temperature, which means keeping them indoors during cold weather. For a holiday set, that points to bringing it inside once the season ends.
CR scores its lights using the two brightest days from its testing. December conditions are harsher, so treat any summer rating as an upper bound. CR’s current picks and scores are on its own site.
How to judge a brand you do not see here
- A maker page exists. You can check the specs against the listing.
- Battery capacity is stated in mAh, along with the chemistry.
- Charge and run time are both stated. A run time with no charge time tells you little.
- The IP rating names the part it covers.
- A warranty is listed. echosari and VOLT each list one year.
If a listing’s specs do not match the maker’s page, trust the maker’s page. If you are still deciding whether solar suits your yard, read are solar Christmas lights worth it. The solar vs plug-in comparison can help if no solar set fits the space.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best brand of solar Christmas lights?
No single brand is best for every spot. Brightown publishes the most complete specs among the holiday brands whose pages we read, Janchs and Lumaz list detailed icicle sets, and echosari covers net lights. Pick the brand whose published specs match your space.
What are the best outdoor solar lights according to Consumer Reports?
Consumer Reports rates solar outdoor lights in three groups: landscape, deck and string lights, with its page updated May 1, 2026. We could not find a Consumer Reports rating of solar Christmas lights specifically, so check CR's site for its current solar picks.
Is Gama Sonic a good brand for Christmas lights?
Gama Sonic makes solar post, wall, path and accent lights rather than holiday strings. Its shop lists no Christmas or string light category. It suits permanent year-round lighting, not seasonal decorating.
What solar light brand lasts the longest?
Holiday string brands rarely publish battery life, so there is little to compare. Gama Sonic says its lithium-ion batteries are designed to last 3 to 5 years, about 1,000 to 2,000 charge cycles, for its permanent lights.
Are cheap unbranded solar Christmas lights worth buying?
They can work, but an unbranded listing gives you no maker page to confirm the battery, run time or IP rating. A named brand with its own spec page lets you check the claims before you buy.
Sources
- 33Ft 100 LED Outdoor Solar Fairy Lights, Warm WhiteBrightown
- 39 FT 100 LED Solar Powered Christmas Snowflake String LightsBrightown
- 4 Pack Total 288 ft 800 LED Solar Powered String Lights, MulticolorBrightown
- Solar Powered Star String Lights, 8 ModesQuntis
- Janchs 304 LED Solar Icicle Lights, 8 Modes, Warm WhiteLightsdaddy
- Solar Curtain Icicle Lights, Outdoor WaterproofLumaz
- 100 LED 5 ft x 5 ft Solar Net Lights, Cool Whiteechosari
- Solar Christmas Lights (72 Feet)VOLT Lighting
- Solar String Lights, White Wire, 500 LED, 165 ft, with Timer and RemoteOutdoor Solar Outlet
- Gama Sonic shop: product categoriesGama Sonic
- 5 Reasons Why Your Solar Light May Not Be WorkingGama Sonic
- Best Solar Outdoor Lights of the YearConsumer Reports
Part of our guide to Best Solar Christmas Lights for Outdoors: What to Buy and Why.


